Volunteer Spotlight: Elesha Bateman

This on-going Volunteer Spotlight series highlights one of much-appreciated volunteers at CURE Childhood Cancer that goes above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference for our organization and in the world of childhood cancer.

I began volunteering for CURE Childhood Cancer after watching a sweet friend almost lose her child to leukemia. I had an almost desperate need to do something, anything to help her.  I could do meals and I could pray.  I could listen…but I needed to do more – I needed to make a difference for my friend.  The more I learned about childhood cancer and the more families I met through my friend, my need became more desperate.

And then, CURE held the first A Tribute to Quiet Our Heroes luncheon.  I sat on the first host committee and have continued volunteering on every host committee since.  I love our event and what it means to all of us.  That luncheon in 2005 has since led to many other opportunities to volunteer with CURE.

For me, volunteering honors my friend and so many others like her that I have grown to love, by never giving up this fight for their children, for my children, for the future.

If you find yourself “desperate”, I encourage you to jump in.  Join the Quiet Heroes committee, become a volunteer with CURE Childhood Cancer, work an Open Arms dinner, donate.  You’ll get so much more than you could ever give…I promise.

—Elesha Bateman

If you are interested in learning more about volunteer opportunities with CURE Childhood Cancer, click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under CURE Events, Non Profit, Volunteer Spotlight

Leave a Reply

