Volunteer Spotlight: Amy Hulett

There was a point in my life when I was in a position where I had to be taken care of and turn over my duties as a cook, cleaner, and even as a mother.  Luckily, I had a generous group of people there to help and support me.

During that hard time in my life  I told myself, “When I make it through this I want to touch someone else’s life the way mine’s been touched.”  It was then that I was introduced to CURE Childhood Cancer. My life has never been the same since.

I started volunteering at the Cup of Joy Holiday Party, which is hosted by Cup of Joy, and honors some of CURE’s amazing families. My inspiration is seeing the faces of the CURE families who so desperately need to smile.  This is also what draws me to continue to serve them.

I love volunteering at the Cup of Joy Holiday Party because I believe that this event is a wonderful way of sharing the Joy of the season. By serving the families of CURE I hope to bring a little moment of peace into the exhaustion of their difficult time – when those families walk in I want them to forget that cancer was even a part of their day!

Seeing the smiles, and hearing the laughter – even if it’s just for a few hours – that’s why I volunteer for CURE.

—Amy Hulett

Leave a comment

Filed under Spotlight

Leave a Reply

