My Passion is Caring for the Most Incredible Families While Finding a Cure

CURE would like to highlight a longtime friend, supporter and former Board of Directors member, Colin Smith.  Many of you know Colin, a nurse for many years at Egleston.  Perhaps she cared for your child with her skilled hands and heart of gold.
Colin and her husband, Eric, and two boys, Tyler and Chase, recently moved to Dallas where Eric has begun a new role with Adidas, his employer.  While all of us miss Colin, we will never forget her contribution to CURE.

Since 1999, Colin Smith has given her time, her talents and her heart to CURE and everything we do.  Her impact, inspiration and commitment to CURE cannot be quantified.  Of her experiences with CURE, Colin writes, “Little did I know over 10 years ago that I would be part of such an amazing organization.  My journey with CURE began back in 1999 when Lauren Gearon gave a short talk about CURE at my sorority’s alumnae group dinner.  I was so impressed with the mission of CURE that I knew I wanted to do more.  With the information Lauren provided, I knew the best action was to raise money!  So I joined the fundraising committee for our group and worked on Care Affair.  As the years went on, I learned more about CURE and more opportunities became available.  I will never forget my first family picnic where I was introduced to the most amazing children and their families.  It was in that moment that I knew where I wanted to spend my nursing career.  CURE always allowed me to engage with families when the times were good and my nursing career introduced me to the journey with families at diagnosis and through treatment.  My peers always ask me why I volunteer and do so much and my answer is simple:   my passion is caring for the most incredible families while always trying to do more to find a CURE!  I feel CURE has given me these opportunities.”

Colin has truly been an integral part of CURE over the past nine years.  Her leadership in the area of patient and family support has been tremendous, and we are so grateful.  Colin commented recently that “CURE’s passion is inspiring” and that “I know I am a better person and nurse for the opportunity to get to know each of you.”  We are certainly better for knowing Colin.

Leave a comment

Filed under Board of Directors

Leave a Reply

